Explanations- Annabell Lee and Ode to Mother

Ode to Mother- So what I’d like to explain about this piece is the very last line. I did realize as I wrote it that it was not very ode-esque. But, I am not one to usually follow a certain form when I’m writing. Now this may just be my opinion, but I thought I’d throw that last line in here to soften the whole thing, and I also believe it brings more emotion to it. I apologize to anyone I may have offended with my rebellion against the traditional format of the “Ode” in this poem, but I will not change it.

Secondly;

I Killed Annabel Lee- Yes, I know, Annabel Lee is a main subject to a famous poem by Edgar Allan Poe. I’ve grown up reading that poem and re-reading it, and I did write that name down for a reason. That reason being that I like the name, and I could not think of anything else that gave me a creepy haunted feel. I may eventually change the name to something else to avoid copywrite issues, but until I find another suitable name I will keep that name for as long as I can. Now, as for the “to be continued” I don’t know if and when I will continue. I still have some kinks to work out in the overall story, and the whole thing was inspired by this very short horror story I wrote [on christmas ironically enough]. However, fear not, should I continue (and I’m sure I will one time or another) I’ll post it here first!

 

Leave a Reply

