I Hear

thenaughtypoet

I hear your footsteps

Up my stairs

Growing closer

Ringing louder

Stomping harder

My heart beating faster

Ears alert

Senses heightened

Trembling hands

Beads of sweat

Praying softly

Quickly in a mumbled breath

Watching

Waiting

Footsteps ever closer

Then suddenly stopping

Two feet now firmly planted at my door

Then came the dreaded knocking

Pounding

Clawing

Screeching

Whipped by wind demonic howling

Followed by complete silence

An uneasy stillness

A moment to speak

To catch my breath and say

Mister Reaper

Just turn the knob

The door is unlocked…

View original post

Leave a Reply

