Butterflies

How do I tell him that…

His syllables sink into my pores

And push my p-u_l-s_e- until I can’t

Breathe.

That it gets faster and faster

Until the friction of his gravelly

Voice against my

Nerves-

Sends shockwaves into my

Everything.

That those tiny

        infinite

sparks

ignite          my           thoughts

Until all that is left are my words

                                          Melted

Like liquid gold,

Sliding down my s p i n e

Into the pit of my stomach.

How do I tell him that

I am quite certain that,

That’s where butterflies come from,

From the shivering knots in my belly…

Bursting forth to meet his words

With nervous giggles.

How do I tell him? 

Leave a Reply

