A Mutual Break-Up

I remember the way the setting sun

Illuminated the green of your eyes,

When your tears stained my cheeks

When we promised it wasn’t good bye.

I miss you in the mornings

When slumber paralyzes my limbs

When I awake from dreams and memories

Of what could have been.

I think of you in the afternoon

When the sun is beaming down on me

When I remember your enveloping arms,

Under the cool shade of summer trees.

But I can’t forget your green eyes,

Illuminated with tears of love and pain,

When our hearts were breaking so bitter sweet,

When there was no other way…

Leave a Reply

